What’s the Point?

Why am I doing this?

Disclaimer: This is a blog written by an adult, for adults. Though you will never find any sexually explicit content, you will find some adult language. If the “F-Word” offends you, please move on. And I thank you for visiting.

So, you may be wondering, “Why are you doing this?”, or, “Why should I visit, or read anything, on this blog?”. Great questions! But, we’ll answer that later.

I’d like to start by introducing myself. My name is Ian Spaid, Sr. As of the date that I publish this post, I am 31 years old. I live in a small town in Western Pennsylvania called Indiana. You may have heard of IUP, or , Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Well, I live smack dab in the middle of the town that revolves around that college. This is my second experience living in this town. I lived here with my parents in 2001, when I was 13 years old. I’ve since lived in quite a few places in the area; Monroeville (Pittsburgh), and several small towns in the Indiana area. I even once lived in St. Augustine Florida for 6 months in 2014. So, technically, for a brief time I was considered a “Florida Man”. Long story short, I’ve moved a lot.

Incarceration and Illegal Substances

In 2012 I married my first wife. During that time, she assisted me in developing a horrible drug habit. So, for the next 4 years, I would be on a rampage of shooting heroin, smoking Meth, and basically being a garbage can for any mind altering substance to be dumped into. The end of that era came on October 28, 2016, when I was arrested for “Operating a Methamphetamine Lab”. That’s exactly what the charge says on my record. I swear. Look it up on PA UJS. I was released on a $50,000 unsecured bail, because our local Judge is a very nice woman, to say the least. But, for that crime, I was given a very light sentence; 6 to 23 months, 29 days in Indiana County Jail (Now classified as a Maximum Security Prison). Since I was a first offender, and the crime wasn’t of a violent nature, I was released after serving 4 months, 27 days for my “good behavior”. I was incarcerated from July 7, 2017 – December 2, 2017. And, in my opinion, that was the BEST thing that could have happened to me.

A New Love. A New Life

While in jail, two very wonderful things happened. First, My first wife (who shall remain nameless, because I have it tattooed on my fucking arm, and I can’t stand to hear it.) left me. At the time I was pretty upset, being locked up and helpless, but the idle time to think and get my head straight in jail made me have an epiphany. This woman left every time life got hard. So this time, I wouldn’t let her come back to do it again. 7 years we were married. And I let go, as if, she never existed. She tried to make amends when I was released, but I wouldn’t allow her to come back. Fuck her. Anyway, on to the second wonderful thing. I was a laundry worker in the jail. And one night, while working, I happened to look out the window of the laundry room, and I saw this short, petite girl with half black hair, half blonde. She was the most beautiful thing that I had ever seen in my life. She was physically perfect. The way she moved, the way she talked, the way she smirked when we locked eyes. It was love at first sight. Fate happened to bring us together when she came to the laundry room door, looking for tiny little shoes to fit her feet. There she was. I had the chance of a lifetime. The chance to talk to her. OMG I was nervous. She was so beautiful. I stuttered, blushed, and failed to comprehend most of what was going on around me. After being released, I added this beautiful lady on Facebook. Shell Reed. I started a conversation. We were up all night talking. She was the first thing on my mind when I woke up the next day. So, I sent a “Good Morning”. The conversation went on for a few hours before I asked her “Would you be my girlfriend?” She said yes. Fast-forward to February of 2019, I asked her to be my wife. She said yes. The Facebook is now Shell Spaid.

A pic of my beautiful wife and I, 2 weeks after we got married. She's my best friend, my lover, and my soul mate.
Mr and Mrs. Spaid, May 27, 2019

I also have 3 children. Olivia, 7, Julian, 4, and Ian Jr., 9 months. I really won’t include much about them for their own privacy.

Time For Your Answer.

Ok, time to give you an answer. If you’ve read this far, I truly thank you. It’s a long post of rambling about my life. But why do I do this? I grew up poor. We had our essentials, but not much more. We didn’t have money to take our cars to garages or hire contractors to remodel. We didn’t have money to have appliances repaired or replaced, computers, game systems, televisions, etc. So, my father did it himself. Although I’m a little better off now than we were then, I still hold on to what I learned. Now, I don’t hire anyone to do my work because I can. I started this blog to share my life experiences and what I’m going through, hoping that I can help someone else with my advice. Take it, or leave it, I can’t be responsible for any damage you may do to your stuff, but I’m never going to post information that hasn’t been researched extensively and tried myself. If I try a project and fail, I will post it as a “What Not to Do.” Post.

I’m here to share the knowledge that I’ve acquired over the last 31 years. I can promise that I won’t steer you in the wrong direction, and I’ll never judge your questions, no matter how easy the answer is. We all learn different. We take in knowledge differently and we all use it differently. If you want to take on something that you have absolutely no knowledge about, reach out to me. We will learn together. Also, this blog isn’t strictly DIY stuff. I need an outlet for some of my daily endeavors.

I want to thank you for reading my story. If my blog helps one person get through one problem, I’ve succeeded. Thank you all.

Ian

Check out that handsome devil 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *